LMC Remits N50m Merit Award Earnings to Clubs

All the 20 clubs that participated in the recently concluded 2012/13 Glo Premier League season have now been credited with their earnings from the Merit Award scheme instituted by the League Management Company (LMC). A N50m total pay-out was announced by the LMC for clubs proportionate to their placing on the log and Kano Pillars, the Champions won the highest figure of N10m while the Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) that finished on 20th place were entitled to N1m.

Chairman of the LMC, Hon. Nduka Irabor while confirming the remittance to the clubs through their respective banks urged the clubs that will compete in the Glo Premier League in the coming season to brace for the challenges of professional football.

“There is a lot to benefit from running our clubs professionally and as we continue the processes for the Club Licensing Regulations, it is important that we focus more on the long term benefits that it will bring about while also preparing our players to win honours that will lead to monetary rewards such as the Merit Award in the short term”, Irabor admonished.

He said the performance-based benefit of the Glo Player League Merit Award was an equitable distribution of the sponsorship earnings of the LMC to not only ensure a win-win situation but also encourage healthy competitive spirit. “We needed to create inspirational values in the League which will accommodate the different levels of strengths inherent in the clubs and the Merit Award represents that proposition. It will bring the best out of the teams and at the same time compensate those who do not have the same competitive strength”, the LMC boss explained.

The top earners in order of performance are Kano Pillars (N10m), Enyimba International (N7.5m), Bayelsa United (N5M) and El-Kanemi Warriors (N2.5m). Others are Rangers International (N2.1m), Warri Wolves (N1.95m), Gombe United (1N1.9m), Sharks (N1.85m) and Dolphins (N1.8m). Kaduna United (N1.75m), Heartland (N1.7m), Sunshine Stars (N1.65m), Lobi Stars (N1.6m) and Nasarawa (N1.5m). The remaining clubs are Nembe City (N1.4m), Akwa United (N1. 3m), Kwara United (N1.25m), Abubakar Bukola Saraki Babes(N1.2m), Wikki Tourists (N1.05m) and Shooting Stars (N1m).

However, the LMC disclosed that the clubs’ individual indebtedness to the league arising from disciplinary penalties and petition fees was netted off their earnings before the remittance.



You are here:   Home News Center LMC Remits N50m Merit Award Earnings to Clubs