Pillars retain Glo Premier League crown

Kano Pillars on Sunday were crowned champions of the Glo Premier League (GPL) for the second season on the bounce.
In spite of a 2-0 defeat to Lobi Stars at the Emmanuel Atongo Stadium in Katsina-Ala, the Kano club won the title as their contenders Bayelsa United and El-Kanemi lost on the final day as well.
Nanen Imenger scored twice to down Kano Pillars but Mohammed Baba Ganaru's men emerged champions on 63 points despite the loss.
Kano Pillars become the first team in 10 years to win the GPL back-to-back since Enyimba won it in 2002 and 2003.
Enyimba finished second with a point behind Kano Pillars after defeating Sharks 1-0 through Ifeanyi Ede's spot kick.
The People's Elephant will now play in the 2014 CAF Champions League for the first time since 2011.
Substitute Meshack Chukwubuikem scored the goal that ended El-Kanemi's title chase in Enugu on Sunday.
Bayelsa United also got their title aspiration ended by Gombe United after Simon Timothy scored the winner in the second half.
El-Kanemi finished in fourth place on 60 points while Bayelsa United end in third spot with 61 points.
Nasarawa United kept their top flight status after Victor Namo scored from the spot in the 25th minute against Heartland.
Second half goals from Vincent Kipu Pere and Obioma Arinze for Nembe City put Sunshine Stars to the sword.
Warri Wolves ended ABS' spell in the GPL with a 1-0 win over the Ilorin club. Oghenekaro Etebo scored the winning goal for the Warri club.
Former champions, 3SC, were also confirmed for relegation on the last day after a 0-2 loss at Kaduna United.
But Kaduna United needed two spot kicks from Linus Adams and Iliya Jibo to down the Ibadan club.
Akwa United and Kwara United shared the points in a relegation dogfight after a 1-1 draw.
Abasiama Michael scored for Akwa United before Sidi Lawal equalised for the Kwara club.
Emeka Atuloma's solitary strike for Dolphins at the Liberation Stadium ensured Wikki Tourists finish the season on 49 points.
Culled from supersport.com


You are here:   Home News Center Pillars retain Glo Premier League crown